HTKRMTSKTBSND:

Petra

Hello not real name, hello what it is I answer to these days, goodbye mother’s blessing, holy baptism, birth papers, penmanship practice. Hello, city of rock, Christ’s apostle, she who survived a great wave, as I wave goodbye, given name, hello, moniker, sobriquet, pet name, hello, Petra, Petra Pan, turning my head toward shadows, away from glum certainties of old age, call my name and diminutive, the child replies.

(Just let me keep writing these terrible things, okay, I’ll get to the good stuff maybe, maybe soon.)

5 thoughts on “HTKRMTSKTBSND:

  1. softfloors says:

    Version with proper line cuts:

    Petra

    Hello not real name, hello what it is I answer to these days, goodbye
    mother’s blessing, holy baptism, birth papers, penmanship practice.
    Hello, city of rock, Christ’s apostle, she who survived a great wave,
    as I wave goodbye, given name, hello, moniker, sobriquet, pet name,
    hello, Petra, Petra Pan, turning my head toward shadows, away from
    glum certainties of old age, call my name and diminutive, the child replies.

    • ddferp says:

      I don’t know why you think this is terrible; tangina, ang galing naman nito, both as a poem and as a collection of musings on a nickname. I’d say it’s worthy to be tattooed somewhere on my body, if I ever get drunk enough.

  2. ddferp says:

    It isn’t. I’m sorry you feel that way about my comment, but I really do like your poem, and I suppose I should’ve written that instead.

    • softfloors says:

      Oh, it’s all right, I’m just really sensitive and scared because it’s been a long time since I’ve done this. Thank you, though, for reading and saying so; you have helped!

Leave a Reply

