Renga #2 with esteemed poet Gian:

Much of my faith, I put
in high places. Heaven
notwithstanding. I loved,
once, a tall girl. Would
tiptoe, at times,
to see her better
from afar. To kiss her
was a world-record feat:
I’d get light-headed at
the altitude. She loved me
too, I think. The way God
touches all of us with
his smallest finger.
We’re grateful, even,
just to be acknowledged
by the Higher Being.
I spoke to her once
in the language of Eskimos
and blamed the seasons
between us for how she
was warm when I was frigid.
Now I am on a plane,
learning to forgive
even as I hurtle through
the sky, examining the clouds
for evidence of God.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

